Interaction Activity Message Sending

As a compliance officer, I would like to know if the user is still active within the session so that I do not automatically log them out.

GIVEN the user is active in a trusted extension directly to the related tab
WHEN the user has activity in the trusted extension
THEN the related tab can listen for that activity and keep the session alive

Send the initiating tab a message when the user is interacting with the form.

Hey @Josh_McKenney , interesting feature request! (I think it's understood but to call it out explicitly...) You operate the website from where the form was triggered.

So, in your post, there is the use case (know if the user is still active within the session while using the form window) and also a proposed solution (send the initiating tab a message when the user). I would prefer to implement this use case in a way that would be pluggable into any website. First, let's look at all the possible options we have (and I'll also elaborate on your suggestion).

Important note: None of what I suggest below is implemented right now (and may not be implemented). I'm just brainstorming the possible solutions here.

1. Event Listener Model

Brief: On every form data update, dispatch a message/event to the website script.

Explanation: We'll need to use window.postMessage (the chrome.* APIs cannot send a message from an extension to a website). Note that arbitrary postMessages can cause websites to break (because they weren't expecting them), so it is important that we only send this message when the website opts in to those messages first. To establish this 'opt-in', the website could send a predetermined message to our extension.

Challenge 1: right now, we have a static configuration that restricts external message abillity to only ["https://*.blaze.today/*", "https://blaze.today/*"]. I think it is unlikely we would change that anytime soon.